Ethereum’s history

has been one of consistent improvements and upgrades to the core protocol. After February’s

Constantinople upgrade

and the upcoming Istanbul hard fork, the Ethereum community is approaching Serenity, the eventual and final iteration in Ethereum’s evolution. Serenity — explained in detail in

Vitalik’s 2018 Devcon speech

— will take place in multiple stages, each estimated a year apart from each other. Ethereum 2.0 — as Serenity is also known — is being guided by

five design principles


Simplicity, Resilience, Longevity, Security, Decentralization

. The gradual approach to Serenity is meant to ensure all principles are developed and upheld, further positioning Ethereum as a market leader in blockchain-based solutions.

The Road to Serenity